Thursday, February 28, 2013


by Jennifer Armentrout
Read: February 8 - 22, 2013
Published: December 11, 2012 by Entangled Teen
Source: Kindle Purchase
Category: Paranormal Romance, Aliens, YA
Series: Lux Series book 3

NOTE: Opal is the third book in a series. My thoughts contain spoilers for Obsidian and Onyx. This review is spoiler free for Opal

No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well... There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different... And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger... and they know it. (From Goodreads)


It took me exactly two weeks to finish this book. Not because I struggled to get through it, or didn't have the time, but because I was panicked out about the CLIFFHANGER everyone was freaking out about. I ended up putting this book on hold when I only had 10 pages left, and finally picking it up again when my desire to know what happens outweighed my fear of what was to come. The ending was crazy, but I survived it intact. With or without the cliffy, Opal is a fantastic sequel. I daresay it's the best book in the Lux series yet. 

I don't know if you remember my Onyx review, but I was incredibly frustrated with Katy throughout the entire book. I've always admired her stubborn, independent personality, and I understand that she was reluctant to trust Daemon and angry at him for hurting her in Obsidian. But in my opinion, that was no excuse for her complete lack of judgement and refusal to listen to the truth. After an entire book of wanting to shake her, and then watching her learn some tough lessons because of her behavior, I was thrilled to be back on Katy's side in Opal

Katy was an idiot in Onyx, but what I admire about her is that she would be the first person to admit it to you. In Opal, Katy acknowledges her mistakes, and actively works to correct them. She does this without sacrificing the feisty, strong willed personality that we met in book one. That doesn't mean that anything is easy, in fact everything is much more complicated. But I love that Jennifer Armentrout doesn't gloss over the mistakes Katy made. 

Katy's relationship with Daemon continues to grow and progress in Opal. They are both strong minded people, and they have to learn to work together and manage their differences. They also have to figure out how to balance their warring desires to protect each other with their need to trust and rely on the other. I was incredibly impressed by Daemon and Katy's growth in this book, and the way that Armentrout showed how well they work as a couple. Despite their differences in natures, they truly connect with each other, and form an amazing team. Of course they are still the same stubborn people that they have always been, and continue to butt heads and disagree at times. But what is fantastic about this book is that they learn how to work through their issues and to communicate without huge breakdowns. I loved seeing signs of maturity in their relationship. Don't worry, there are plenty of sweet and sexy moments in this book as well. Fans of Katy and Daemon will not be disappointed by that development of their relationship either.

Amidst Katy and Daemon's personal dramas, the seriousness of the government threat to the aliens is increasing, and every person they know has been affected in some way. People in town have started to notice that there have been a lot of suspicious disappearances, and a few sudden reappearances. Dawson has been rescued. However, Beth is still being held by Daedalus, and he is desperate to get her back (I loved Dawson, especially his interactions with Katy and Daemon!!). Dee is struggling with the loss of Adam, and blames Katy for his death. Katy's moms' boyfriend Will has disappeared, and it is unclear whether Daemon successfully created a bond with Will when he healed his leg. The Arum are a constant threat hanging over everyone's heads. Many questions surround the DOD and Daedelus, and no one knows what has happened to Blake since Daemon and Katy let him live at the end of Onyx. I got dizzy just typing all of that out, I can't imagine what it must be like to live it. 

Two major themes this book explores are consequences and sacrifice. What are you willing to do to save the people you love? Would you put yourself at risk, or sacrifice someone else? I have a feeling that we will be revisiting these questions in the next two books, which  are supposed to be from both Daemon and Katy's perspectives. I cannot wait for that. 

Love Triangle Factor: NONE!
Cliffhanger Scale: HIGH


  1. When I started reading Opal, I had no idea there was going to be a huge cliffhanger! I just got into the series recently and ended up reading all three books of the course of a few days. And wow, my jaw dropped when I got to the last page. I think Opal was the best of the series too. It was great to see the growth and maturity in Katy and Daemon's relationship and individually too. Plus all the swoonworthy moments of course :) But my other favorite part of the series was Katy and Dee's friendship. I don't know if it's possible but I do hope they heal their relationship somehow. Great review!!

    1. I think it definitely helped me to handle this one better because I knew it was coming. HOWEVER, I was also very nervous and pretty much shaking when I got to the end. But at least we know how the characters feel about each other, it would be worse without that. YES. There are lots of great relationships in this series, and Katy and Dee are one of them. I loved them from the first book and I hope that we can get back to that some day. But I also think that what has happened is realistic, especially in regards to Katy's behavior in the past book and what happened to Adam. And oh the SWOON. JArmentrout is so good at that, isn't she.

  2. Amazing review, Lauren! You make this book have so much depth when, on the surface, it really doesn't. I loved the progression of Daemon and Katy's relationship (sneaky author, making the cliffie all the more painful!) and especially the comeback of Dawson. I loved him in the e-novella and the subtle growth of his relationship with Daemon was my favorite by far! :) I can't wait for Book 4, now! :D

    1. Thanks Keertana. I think that's why this series stands out to me, and JArmentrout as a writer. At first it seems like a typical Paranormal Romance, but there are some really great themes in here, plus despite all the drama and alien activity, I love that there are real consequences to everyone's actions, and that they're not glossed over. Yes Dawson is really a fantastic character. I also loved how well Katy was able to mediate between Daemon and Dawson and help them heal their relationship. I think it would have been a lot tougher without her there to ease the way for them. YES BRING ON THE NEXT ONE. I won't be waiting so long to read it!

  3. I have GOT to start this series!! I hear such great things! I'll be back to comment one day when I do:)

    1. You DO! Now you can read the first three together. They are gooooddddddd. I think you'll definitely want to do 2 and 3 in a chunk at least.

  4. I have read so many feelings on this series. Some love it and other hate it...but I feel like you captured the best of both opinions in your review. I think I will give it a shot now. Thanks a ton!

    1. I hope you love these! You may be better off if you can read the first three together, especially if one or more of the characters annoy you along the way. Overall, I think this is a fantastic series.

  5. OH GOSH I'm skipping this one for sure. When I do this series, I'm flat-out starting over. STARTING OVER.

    Also --> No one is like Daemon Black. --> He is my book husband. I swear. I don't care if he is an alien jerk.

    1. I agree. Daemon is swoony to the extreme. Love that Katy is his girl match.

      You MUST READ BOOKS 2 and 3. I want to discuss them with you!!!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...