Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine 
that spotlights upcoming releases we can't wait to read.



This week I can't wait for: 

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
(Imprint of MacMillan)

 I'm still trying to learn all the publisher and their imprints, something I was completely oblivious to before I was a blogger. To help me out with this process (and you too, if you're anything like me), I wanted to start using my WoW posts to highlight upcoming books from specific publishers that I'm excited about reading.

_____________________________________________________________________


I know you can't wait for this one either, or you've already read it and you're raving. I actually have a copy, I just need to start it!


by Leila Sales
Published September 17, 2013 

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

Told in a refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together.

_____________________________________________________________________

Sometimes, I'm sadly out of the loop. I just found out about this one and now I'm salivating. She buys him? Can't wait:

by Marie Rutkoski
Published March 4, 2014

In the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Cassandra Clare comes this brilliant, unputdownable, star-crossed romance about the curse of winning.

Seventeen-year-old Kestrel is an aristocratic citizen of Valoria, a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers. Here, a girl like Kestrel has two choices: join the military or get married. Despite her skills in military strategy, Kestrel’s real passion is music.Which is why she feels compelled to buy Arin, a slave with a talent for singing, at auction. It’s not long before she finds herself falling in love with Arin, and he seems to feel the same for her. But Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for Arin is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a new world, The Winner’s Curse is a story of wicked rumors, dirty secrets, and games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart

_____________________________________________________________________

This one is so far cover-less. Don't be fooled by this image. Also, I know I talked about this book the other day, but I'm still excited!

by Elizabeth Fama
Published April 8, 2014
Divided by day and night and on the run from authorities, star-crossed young lovers unearth a sinister conspiracy in this compelling romantic thriller.

Seventeen-year-old Soleil Le Coeur is a Smudge—a night dweller prohibited by law from going out during the day. When she fakes an injury in order to get access to and kidnap her newborn niece—a day dweller, or Ray—she sets in motion a fast-paced adventure that will bring her into conflict with the powerful lawmakers who order her world, and draw her together with the boy she was destined to fall in love with, but who is also a Ray.

Set in a vivid alternate reality and peopled with complex, deeply human characters on both sides of the day-night divide, Plus One is a brilliantly imagined drama of individual liberty and civil rights, and a fast-paced romantic adventure story.

What books are you waiting on this week? 

Are you waiting on anything specific from this publisher?



16 comments:

  1. This Song sounds really awesome. I have it on my GR tbr. Winner's Curse's cover was fab!

    Here's my Wednesday post.

    Michelle, The Escapist.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Winner's Curse and Plus One sound amazing. I hadn't heard of Plus One, but what an intriguing idea, the whole day-night divide. Great picks! ~Pam

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yes, I really love your picks! I can't wait for The Winner's Curse and This Song either :)

    (Also, I love your blog name. That's right, love IS NOT a triangle!)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I loved Sales's novel and can't wait for The Winner's Curse! It sounds so unique and different. I haven't read anything by Fama yet and didn't know she had an upcoming novel, but now I'm curious to pick it up soon. I really want to give her books a try. Wonderful picks, Lauren!(:

    ReplyDelete
  5. Woo Hoo--This song will Save Your Life. Hands down one of the best I've read this year:) Can't wait for your thoughts!

    And Woo Hoo for Plus One and Beth Fama:)

    That second book is getting a lot of play time today-- I've seen it 3 times already! The gorgeous cover doesn't hurt!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great picks! I have an ARC of the first one and am really looking forward to reading it! Please check out my WoW!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh goodness, I have been so curious about Winner's Curse since Kat and Steph have been raving about it. And I'm dying for Elizabeth Fama's book, too! SO MANY EXCITING BOOKS. :D They keep us on our toes.

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

    ReplyDelete
  8. I had the first two on my to-read list but I hadn't yet heard of the third one. Which is now on my list.

    I'm still trying to figure out all the imprints and their focus! But I'm a big fan of Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR), especially recently.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I adored This Song Will Save Your Life and highly encourage everyone to get a copy as soon as they can and then read it right away too-it was amazing! My favorite book of the second half of the year so far.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'm so looking forward to This Song Will Save Your Life too :). I haven't seen a single bad review for it, and in fact, Heather at the Flyleaf Review posted SUCH a glowing read of it and the music included that I'm STILL excited for the book.... even though I don't remember how long ago I read her review!

    The Winner's Curse - Ahh, it feels like I've been waiting on that for so long. I'm friends on Goodreads with the reviewers who got some of the original, exclusive ARCs and I've seen them talk about its awesomeness for so long... and the synopsis... And Marie Rutkoski!

    ReplyDelete
  11. LOVED This Song so much. Winner's Curse isn't a book I'd pick up based on the synopsis, but if it's getting great reviews, I'll definitely give it a try!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I'm really looking forward to reading This Song Will Save Your Life!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Awesome choices! The Winners Curse sounds so amazing. I found out about it last week during Waiting on Wednesday. The cover is absolutely gorgeous as well. :) Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I absolutely love this pub. I think I have The Winner's Curse scheduled for next week's WoW, in fact. And Elizabeth Fama...I eagerly anticipate her next novel. Monstrous Beauty was just gorgeous!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Oh, that is a great way to do a WOW. I wasn't aware of what publisher's books I was reading until I joined Netgalley and now that's the first thing I look for in a book. This Song Will Save You Life: Heck Yeah!! After seeing so many great reviews, I have to have a copy of that book. The Winner's Curse: Stunning cover. No need to read the premises lol. Plus One: I love that it has starcrossed young lovers but other than that, I'm not really attracted to the story. That's a maybe. Thanks for sharing these pretties, Lauren!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...