Wednesday, September 12, 2018

As She Ascends by Jodi Meadows - Out Now!

As She Ascends
by Jodi Meadows
Read: August 23 - September 1, 2018
Published: September 11, 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books
Source: E-galley from Harper (Thank you!)
Category: Fantasy, Dragons, Anxiety, On-The-Run- Sweet Romance, 
Series: Fallen Isles book 2/3


Mira Minkoba is on the run with her friends after a fiery escape from the Pit, where she’d been imprisoned for defending the dragons she loves. And she wants answers. Where have all the dragons been taken? Why are powerful noorestones being shipped to the mainland? And did the treaty she’s been defending her whole life truly sell out the Fallen Isles to their enemies


As her connection to the dragons—and their power—grows stronger, so does Mira’s fear that she might lose control and hurt someone she loves. But the only way to find the truth is to go home again, to Damina, to face the people who betrayed her and the parents she’s not sure she can trust.Home, where she must rise above her fears. Or be consumed.The second page-turning novel in Jodi Meadows’ Fallen Isles trilogy scorches with mysterious magic and riveting romance as one girl kindles a spark into a flame.
NOTE: As She Ascends in the second book in the Fallen Isles series and sequel to Before She Ignites. Click on the title for my review of the first installment - I loved it! 
I have been a huge fan of Jodi Meadow's work since I read her Incarnate series, and that hasn't changed with these new books. I adored Before She Ignites, but As She Ascends kicks everything - including the dragons - up a notch. If you loved Mira and the first book in the series, you're going to love this second installment too. If you were hesitant to pick it up, or weren't sure about it, I urge you to give this book a go. You won't be disappointed!
Here are 5 (plus a bonus!) incredible things you can expect in the pages of As She Ascends: 

1) Lots more dragons - Not only do we find out more about what is happening to them in the Fallen Isles, but we get to know them better as individuals, especially Mira's sweet LaLa. I adore this dragon! 

2) Lots more travel and exploration - We get to know Mira’s island nations, and even travel to several of them, all while outrunning danger of course. 

3) Lots more of Mira’s squad - I love the group of friends that Mira has found. They are all very different, and they don't always get along. After the events of the last book, they have to figure out how to work together - and how they will proceed forward, literally and figuratively. But one of the best parts of this book is seeing the support that they are to each other, and to Mira.

4) Lots more about Mira, including her anxiety - I appreciated so much the look we were given at Mira's anxiety in this book. The ways she has learned to fight through it, and the ways her friends are there for her. Mira is also continuing her evolution in this book, as she stands up for herself and her dragons and starts to get things done. And we get to see more of her magic too. 

5) Lots more about Aaru, especially about his past - I really appreciated the glimpse of Aaru's history and learning more about who he is and where he's come from. It helped me understand him a lot better. We also get some looks at Mira's other friends' histories - Ilina, Hristo, Gerel and Chenda.

6) Bonus!  The sweetest, most gentlest romances with no love triangle - Jodi Meadows excels at this type of love interest, and I loved watching Mira and Aaru slowly open up to each other. These two come from very different backgrounds but they also seek to understand and support each other as much as they can. There's also another side romance that was fun to see too. 

Of course As She Ascends answers lots of questions and leaves readers asking even more. I cannot wait for the final installment of this series!

Love Triangle Factor: NONE
Cliffhanger Scale: Low/Medium - Not the middle of danger, but much more story and revelations to come. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...