Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Dial

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine 
that spotlights upcoming releases we can't wait to read.

This week I can't wait for:
Dial Books for Young readers 

According to, "In fiction for middle grade and young adult readers, Dial's focus has always been on stylish, genuine, character-driven writing."


I'm really liking that this series is going to be a duet, but I'm hoping this book is not going to turn triangle-y. 

by April Genevieve Tucholke
Published April 14, 2014

The conclusion to Between the Devil and The Deep Blue Sea, this gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and Daphne du Maurier is a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Anna Dressed in Blood.

Freddie once told me that the Devil created all the fear in the world.
But then, the Devil once told me that it's easier to forgive someone for scaring you than for making you cry.
The problem with River West Redding was that he'd done both to me.

The crooked-smiling liar River West Redding, who drove into Violet's life one summer day and shook her world to pieces, is gone. Violet and Neely, River's other brother, are left to worry—until they catch a two a.m. radio program about strange events in a distant mountain town. They take off in search of River but are always a step behind, finding instead frenzied towns, witch hunts, and a wind-whipped island with the thrum of something strange and dangerous just under the surface. It isn't long before Violet begins to wonder if Neely, the one Redding brother she thought trustworthy, has been hiding a secret of his own . . .


I love this author. I love purple. I love the beach. What's not to like?

by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published April 15, 2014

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

This book has no description or cover, but it's by the same author who wrote The Sky is Everywhere, so YES!

by Jandy Nelson
Published September 11, 2014

What book are you waiting on this week?


  1. I think that you just made my day! I had no idea that Jandy Nelson was publishing anything. Oh my, I don't know what to do with myself. Immediately adds it to tbr. This is seriously the best news. I can't wait for Huntley Fitzpatrick. Those ladies are going to make 2014 so freaking amazing. Best picks ever <3

    Aly @ My Heart Hearts Books
    My WoW

  2. I keep waiting for news about Nelson's novel, so hopefully SOON. I wasn't a fan of Fitzpatrick's debut, but I really LOVE the cover of her latest novel and am a sucker for beach reads, so I'll most likely read it. And I still am somewhere in the first-half of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea - I need to go back and finish that - but I'm hoping I enjoy it enough to pick up the sequel. I'm underwhelmed so far, hence the reason I got sidetracked by other reads (or more like my ARC Pile decided to erupt!), but I love the fact that this series is a duet and am very curious to finish it up. Great picks, Lauren!

  3. I can definitely handle duologies (sp?) better than trilogies lately. I just don't seem to be finishing trilogies! But I really enjoyed the first one and am interested to see where the second goes -- NO LOVE TRIANGLES, PLEASE!!

  4. Haven't read Between the Devil yet but I already have a copy and hopefully, I get to read it soon. AND OHMYGOSHHH!! The Sky Is Everywhere is one my most favorite contemps! I can't wait for Jandy's future books! Awesome pick!

    Chel @ The Procrastinator's Corner

  5. SO EXCITED FOR BETWEEN THE SPARK AND THE BURN LAUREN! I really hope it doesn't turn into a triangle with the brothers either, so I think we need to both keep our fingers crossed. I wish the cover was as pretty as the DEVIL cover, I'm not really a fan of the font on the word burn, but that's just me being super picky. I cannot wait for the book itself. Same with Huntley Fitzpatrick's book, I adored MY LIFE NEXT DOOR!

  6. I'm a bit disappointed in the cover for Between the Spark and the Burn because I loved Devil's so much-I just don't like the color scheme. And I was a bit let down while reading it but since it's only a duology, I will probably check it out to see if it comes back (but not if it turns into a love triangle with the brothers-I hate that trope.)

  7. Between the Spark and the Burn has a gorgeous cover and I agree with Huntely Fitzpatrick's new book. I cannot wait! Loved The Boy Next Door so bad and I'm so so so SO excited for this one :)

  8. I'm totally loving the duology set too! I have both Tucholke and Huntley (their other books) on my TBR list for the Christmas break! So excited to check those out. Awesome picks, thanks for sharing!

    Bookmunchies' WoW (:

  9. I really liked Between the Devil so I'm definitely reading Between the Spark and excited that it's a duology! And My Life Next Door was so good, I love Huntley Fitzpatrick! I just recently read The Sky is Everywhere and I enjoyed it, great to hear she has a new one coming out (although September is so far away!) Great picks! ~Pam

  10. Between the Spark and the Burn, oh so not a fan of that cover. I liked Between the Devil, though I didn't really get the weirdness, but looking forward to see what it brings! :) Great picks!

    Heres mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  11. Awesome picks. Really looking forward to Between the Spark and the Burn!!

    Thanks for sharing <3

    Our WoW

    Doris @ Owl Always Be Reading

  12. Between the Spark and the Burn looks awesome :D Thanks for sharing!!

    Here's my WoW

    -Marianne @ Boricuan Bookworms

  13. Both of the books in the Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea series have great covers! The first book was just ok for me, but I think I'll still read this sequel =)

  14. YES to Spark! I am dying to find out what happens next. I loved the first one so, so much.

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

  15. I desperately want to read Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, but I think I'll wait to see what readers make of its sequel before diving in. Hopefully it has a satisfying ending! I haven't read a Fitzpatrick title, but I'm really digging the synopsis and cover of What I Thought was True. Hopefully great things will come from that one too! :)

  16. Yes yes YES to all of those! I only just read The Sky is Everywhere, but I am in love with this author's writing and will read anything and everything she writes going forward. :)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...