Monday, March 12, 2018

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Now We Rise Blog Tour

#NowWeRise Blog Tour organized by Fierce Reads

Children of Blood and Bone
by Tomi Adeyemi 

Release Date: March 6, 2018 
Publisher: Henry Holt Books for Young Readers

Book Description: Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

For the Children of Blood and Bone Discover Your Magic #NowWeRise Blog Tour, I am a Grounder and this book involves a journey, so I took Zélie and her book for a walk at one of my favorite local places to explore:

I am currently reading this book and LOVING it, but I also want to savor every minute of the story, and it's a constant pull in both directions. Although it is not the same at all, Zélie is pulled and stretched a lot in this book. I cannot wait to find out where she goes next on her journey (literally and figuratively).

Grounders can manipulate the earth, and being outside and exploring nature is one of my family's favorite things to do together. Zélie travels through the heat of a jungle and desert in this story, and she talks about living in a place with snow during her early life. 

My family loves to explore the same places in multiple seasons, experiencing the rhythms of the earth. Although Zélie's life gets turned upside down in this book, she talks about missing the daily life and rhythms of her own fishing village. 

Now back to reading this amazing story...


You can also take a more formal Maji Clan quiz at


  1. Looks like I am a tider. This book looks amazing. I hope to read it soon

  2. Eee, love these photos :D Stunning blog tour post Lauren. <3 Thank you for sharing about this book. THRILLED that you are loving it :D Yay. I ordered the B&N edition, and I cannot wait to get it and start this book too. <3


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...